Music, Parenting, Sports, Travel, Twitter

Trending on Twitter

It certainly isn’t #SAHD but you know what, I’m trending to Nolan. He kept asking for “school time” today but tomorrow is a new day, so let’s hope #schooltime becomes a trend.

I’m a New Yorker through and through. Born and raised in Long Island, I went to college in the Bronx and then proceeded to stay there for six more years coaching at my alma mater, Manhattan College. Since relocating from the hustle and bustle of New York City for the calm and quiet of northern Connecticut, I find myself living in a battlefield of New York vs. Boston. Yankees vs. Red Sox. Knicks vs. Celtics. Rangers vs. Bruins. Giants vs. Patriots. (You see, I’m a fan of the Yankees and Giants but can care less about the Knicks or the Rangers, in fact, I grew up an Islanders fan.)

On the Twitter machine, trends vary from location to location, and the trends from New York to Boston are no different. Technically, I’m a few miles closer to Boston than my old stomping grounds of New York, but I keep track of the trends in the Big Apple. I wish Hartford was an option as a city but instead they picked the glorious metropolis known as New Haven. I’m a little miffed about that one but no matter–Connecticut is basically a 50/50 split of New York and Boston anyway.

Here’s what’s trending on Twitter in New York:

  • #Mets – not sure why the Mets are trending, they’re in fourth place, 11 games behind the NL East-leading Braves.
  • #RoyalBaby – well this one sure doesn’t shock me as the coverage for the better part of a week has been about this baby. I forgot we lived in England.
  • #BestSongEver – based on the tweets, it may have something to do with One Direction.
  • Carlos Danger – Anthony Weiner is at it again, this time using this clever moniker as an alias to email more pictures of his junk to unsuspecting women. (according to the name generator on Slate.com, my alias would be Salvador Trouble)

I am done for the evening as Lindsay just got back from her 3-mile run. As you know, she’s in training for a half-marathon and this morning it was pouring rain so she had to postpone until tonight.

Goodnight.

Leave a Reply

