Family, Parenting

Shorthanded SAHD, let the whirlwind commence

life
life

I’m officially outnumbered by the little humans.

Wifester went back to work after a glorious 12-week maternity leave and the dynamic seems a bit off since she left at 8:00 this morning. Despite Becky being away, she’s reuniting with Butlerish and I’m sure as much as she was dreading going back and leaving me in charge of the two boys, she’s actually a tiny bit glad to be back.

The boys and I went to the library for some play group which really consisted of Unit popping bubbles from the bubble machine and he holding New Guy. They’re both asleep at the moment, but that can change in the blink of an…

((Oops, there it is, New Guy just woke up…I think. Unit is passed out and has been since around 1:00 pm, so I’m guessing I’ll see him again around three o’clock or so as long as the crying doesn’t wake him up.))

…eye.

G was hesitant (read: screamed bloody murder) to take a bottle before we trekked out this morning — I guess dad giving him a bottle is a tiny bit different from what he’s been used to for 12 weeks. Unit just looked at me and smiled as I struggled to feed New Guy.

I pray that, like today, I’ll get at least 45 minutes a day just to relax and have a Dunkin’ iced coffee (my second of the day) while they both sleep at the same time. I know it’s a long shot but I’m the puppet-master here and I’m going to try like hell to get them (New Guy) on a schedule.

Wifester said to me, “If you can get to noon, the rest of the day will be a breeze.” And she’s right, because that’s when Unit has lunch and heads to nap, once again leveling the playing field. I’m going to try to do as much as possible in the morning to make the days fun for Unit, myself, and New Guy (even though he just smiles and farts).

This morning I was unsure of how in the hell I was going to swing two kids, one who just last night decided he was going to learn to roll over, prompting a 1:30 am wakeup for everyone but the Unit. He’s a fan of the sleep sack so instead of wrapping him like a burrito, we’ve got to leave his arms free in case he rolls over. I’m glad he is rolling over and becoming more like a real human instead of a ball of mush, but I wish he’d stick to daytime hours to do so.

Now I know two kids is probably a breeze compared to three or four or five kids, but I’ve never taken care of more than one, so it;’s daunting. Unit has been pretty good for the most part despite his occasional “break out” — his term for a freak out. His “NOs!” have been a little less frequent today but it’s just one day, so I’m not counting my chickens yet.

He’s a great kid and I’m sure he’ll be a big help once he realizes that he can physically make contact with New Guy. He has no problem talking to him, or talking towards him, but he refuses to get too close. In time, in time.

OK, let me go enjoy my second mammoth coffee of the day while I catch the middle of MLB.tv‘s free game of the day, the Padres at the Twins.  Kind of a fitting afternoon game for a stay-at-home dad, Padres and Twins (I am a dad although I don’t have twins).

2 thoughts on “Shorthanded SAHD, let the whirlwind commence”

Leave a Reply

