Go (away), Dog, Go!

For those of you who  know me, my dog, Nathan, often times gets on my nerves but when it boils down to it, he’s more like a cat than a dog and is pretty low maintenance, besides the hair tumbleweeds I routinely find around the house. Of course, if you’ve got kids, chances are you’ve read Go, Dog, Go!

It’s one of the most ridiculous books ever written but kids love it, especially Unit. Every week, we go to the library and take out a few books that we read before nap and bed time. Tonight we read said books and I told him to grab another if he wanted, and of course he did (not complaining). As he walked over to his corner “book nook,” he scoured the books on the shelves as I cringed, hoping he didn’t hand me Go, Dog, Go!, but alas, he did.

I offered to read it first since it’s one of the weirdest books ever written and I wanted to get it over with. There are big dogs, little dogs, dogs in cars, yellow dogs, dogs at work, and all sorts of other dogs but his favorite part is the banter between two dogs regarding one dogs hat, which the other never likes until the big dog party, at which point he decides it’s a great party hat! If you’re scratching your head trying to figure this all out because you’ve never read the book, fear not. I scratch my head every time I read it and wonder what kind of drugs P.D. Eastman must have been on when he wrote this book.

Kids love it, though, and Unit is no exception.

He’s tucked in bed falling asleep and New Guy is asleep as well (for now) so Wifester and I are getting a little boozy.

Goodbye. Goodbye!

Leave a Reply

