Rubbermaid, for all of your food storage

I just looked at my previous post date (almost two months ago) and nearly fell off my couch. OK, that’s a false statement, I almost fell asleep, but that’s because I worked at Dunkin last night from midnight to 6am and am freaking exhausted. Somewhere around Halloween of last year I took on an overnight baking job a few nights a week at the local Dunkin Donuts to bring in a little extra scratch while still allowing me to care for Unit and G-Man during the days, thus allowing us to avoid paying exorbitant amounts of money to the germ palace known as daycare.

Resolutions for 2015? No one wants to hear my (or your) resolutions.

Moving on.

It’s a new year and my food storage game took a huge step forward. Life-changing, not entirely, but having reliable containers to store homemade baby food and leftovers is pretty ace.

Previously, I used the leftover Chinese food containers, you know the white or black oval/rectangular ones with the clear lids that after a few cycles in the dishwasher resembled a thin, albeit waterproof, cardboard.

Rewind to Christmas Day. Wrapped up was the 40 Piece Set Easy Find Lids,  and I immediately put them to use. Yes, even before washing them. Mashed sweet potatoes for G-Man, you bet. Leftover roasted cauliflower for me, absolutely. Pasta salad for Wifester’s lunch, mmhmm. Car snacks for Unit after picking him up from school, yup.

The storage is a breeze – the lids snap together and stack so it’s almost impossible for me to lose (it’s only been a week or so, but they’re all accounted for still). For now. As for the actual food vessels, they’re neatly stored in the cabinets above the oven, easily and readily accessible for whenever I need one.

I’m 33 years old. It’s about damn time I stop using takeout containers for food storage. It’s juvenile and truth be told, we don’t order a lot of takeout anymore. In fact, tomorrow I am making beef and broccoli in the slow cooker, which will likely save us 50% as opposed to ordering out. Besides, we’ve been in our home since April and I haven’t the foggiest idea where our ‘local’ Chinese food spot it.

Anyway, thanks Rubbermaid. You’ve helped me and my food out immensely, which in turn helps my entire family.

2 thoughts on “Rubbermaid, for all of your food storage

Leave a Reply

