Parenting

No longer a full-time stay-at-home dad. For now.

I know I’ve lost likely 99.9% of my readers in the past five months with my prolonged absence, and that’s to be expected.

Staying home and raising one-and-a-half and four-and-a-half year old boys is not very conducive to a lot of free time for writing, not for me, at least. I spent my time outdoors, at the parks, going on hikes – not in front of a screen.

Now, Unit is in pre-k full-time five days a week and the little guy stays home with a nanny from 9am to 1pm while I am working, yes, working. I took a job at a high school as a para-educator in an alternate education program in hopes of entrenching myself in a school system to begin a career. It’s gratifying work but nothing compares to being home and raising your children.

The good thing about this job is I’m home by 1, 1:30 at the latest and get to pick Unit up after his school day ends. It’s not like I am getting home at 5:30, 6 o’clock and seeing them off to bed in an hour, so for that I’m grateful

That said, I am not about to completely give up hope on once again returning to being a stay-at-home dad to my boys. I am simply testing the waters here before sitting down once the year is over and discussing the options with my wife before determining what is the best path for us.

I’ll make every effort to keep writing because it’s actually a way to unwind and de-stress after a day of work, well, that and crosswords or Boggle.

Until next time.

3 thoughts on “No longer a full-time stay-at-home dad. For now.”

  1. The great summer weather was terrible for blogging! So glad you took advantage of it. Nice to read a post from you – was beginning to wonder what was going on in your corner of the world. Good luck with the discernment.

Leave a Reply

