Why the crying?

 

I often wonder why the hell Austin is crying when he cries but the truth is no one really knows.

I get he might be hungry or need a new diaper or just have a little gas. Those things would/sometimes make me want to cry too. He can’t communicate besides crying or cooing or smiling or just chilling out, so it’s not like he’s going to all of a sudden tell me why he’s crying, not at three/four months-old.

Austin is a very, very chill and calm baby. He does, however, cry from time to time, but I’m not complaining. The non-crying time far exceeds the crying time.

The temperature and humidity have been brutal lately and there was a day or two where he seemed to be bothered by both, which led to some amount of fussing, but nothing over the top.

Here are some questions I ask myself/or him when he starts to cry.

Are you crying because he’s gassy/crampy? After he eats we burp him, chest to chest, gently patting him on the back until he burps. Recently he hasn’t been spitting up nearly as much as even a few weeks ago, but still we give him a bit of time before allowing any pressure on the stomach. We’ve got plenty of puke spots on our carpet already. I sometimes bicycle his legs if he’s fussy in my attempt to force a toot out, but my success rate is only about 20%. There was a week-plus where he didn’t poop (burp/toot/poop, being able to use these words as an adult and not be looked at weird is a perk of being a parent) but then proceeded to go in the bath, twice the next morning, and once more that same night. He was saving it but was not really cranky because of it.

Are you crying because Graham is crying? Yes, this almost always makes him cry. Hearing his brother cry prompts crying quite often.

Are you crying because his pacifier came out in the middle of the night half a dozen times? Yes, this leads to crying/whining almost 90% of the time. The other night I heard the pacifier hit the floor and was on my feet within the second only to be greeted in his room with a slight cry. I popped it back in, rubbed his back, and crept out t0723161438he door, like a ninja.

You mad? When he eats from the boob, he’ll go until he’s satisfied. We’re not sure how many ounces that is, but he never cries after eating from the boob. With the bottle, I’m convinces he could take down ten ounces and still cry afterwards. As it stands, his bottles are anywhere from four to six ounces and that is more the adequate and sufficient. He’ll cry for a minute as I attempt to coax a burp out but then gives up once he realizes that’s all he’s going to get.

I really have to hold you all day? Sometimes it seems this way. I’ll prop him on the Boppy and he’ll start screaming within seconds. If I put him in his bouncy seat I might get a few minutes to prep dinner, eat lunch, go to the bathroom alone. Sometimes I’ll ask Nolan to make him smile and he’s usually happy to oblige, and Graham even enjoys laying next to him just staring. Until Austin reaches to touch him, at which point you’ll hear, “Daddy, baby no!”.

But every time he cries, I actually ask him why he’s crying, like I’m expecting a miraculous response. Making funny faces or stupid noises usually helps calm him down, but every time he wakes up from a nap he thinks it’s time to eat.

Sometimes, I need to use stall tactics to take his mind off eating. He eats when he wakes up at 7am, again at 10am, 1pm, 4pm, and 7pm. The stalling only needs to be for about 45 minutes at the most, which isn’t that difficult.

How do I stop him from crying? He enjoys someone singing him personalized songs, dance movements, (sometimes) going outside for fresh air, the sound of the vacuum, and his car window halfway down. It’s trial and error. But I’m just thankful he’s a happy little dude.

2 thoughts on “Why the crying?

  1. I’ve often wondered the same thing about mine. Many times we can’t put our second down to get a minute to go to the bathroom. That is the part that sucks about parenting, the not knowing what is going on with our children until they are able to talk to us.

    1. 100% – he’s very good 98% of the time – it’s usually hungry or tired, but is it normal for him to be tired after 90 minutes awake? at almost 4mo?

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close