Why are baby boogers so sticky?

That’s the first thing I use the Google for today since Austin has some of the greenest, stickiest snot coming out of his nose lately (thanks Nolan and kindergarten).

Google spit out some results and here are the first four:

  1. Baby Boogers – BabyCenter
  2. Baby Boogers Colors: A Guide to Decoding Their Meanings
  3. Baby Congestion: Decoding Baby’s Snot! – UnityPoint Health
  4. Why are boogers sticky? | HowStuffWorks

I mean it netted 970,000 results in .46 seconds.

I clicked the fourth one since that was closest to my initial query and  I don’t really care about a what as much as why. (I did peruse the color article and am super stoked he doesn’t have gray or black snot, as that is caused by air pollution and sounds pretty awful.

It went on to describe mucus and mucin and polysaccharides and didn’t give me an answer. I get snot, I get that it’s mucus made from mucus membranes. But why?!

I’ll pick one out of his nose and try flicking it but it’s like damn Super Glue on my fingertips. How the shit does is leak so freely from his nose yet I can’t get it off my finger?

Most people on the Google results begin discussing how to get the boogers out of the nose with nose suckers, Nose Frida, etc. Who cares?! Why’s it so sticky?

I use baby wipes, I’ll dab it with a swaddle blanket he has already puked on, or use my fingers to gently squeeze it outta there before trying to remove it from my finger. I mean seriously, good luck picking and flicking this stuff.

Does anyone have any answers? Why is baby snot so sticky?

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close