My attempt at bartaco’s black bean salad

Pinterest is either a gold mine or land mine for recipes and meal suggestions. Often times for me, it’s the latter as the recipes just don’t come together like they’re supposed to even when I follow the directions to a T.

Restaurants also give me ideas for meals and sides, but because we don’t eat out too often, those ideas are few and far between. And often every time I want to try recreating a “restaurant dish,” I don’t and just pick one of the fifteen or so go-to meals that are easy.

Until now. Kind of. Because this was easy.

I got take-out from bartaco the other night while at work, and on a whim, went with the black bean salad as a side to complement my two tacos.

Here’s the description from their menu:

black beans, grilled corn, pickled carrots, black bean salad dressing

Pretty vague and uninspiring, but I went for it anyway. I’d legit eat this with every meal, including breakfast.

So here I go, as sub-amateur food maker dad, in my attempt to mimic this bomb-ass black bean salad, fully aware I’ll do it no justice.

What You’ll Need:

  • 1 can black beans
  • 1 can corn (it’s winter in New England, no corn on the cob to be found)
  • 1 bell pepper, diced
  • 1 carrot, diced
  • 1/2 shallot, minced
  • 2 scallions, chopped
  • fistful of cilantro, minced (I just like using these words)
  • lime
  • olive oil
  • salt, pepper, sugar to taste

Step-by-step:

  1. Rinse black beans
  2. Roast corn with a bit of olive oil, let cool
  3. Mince, dice, and chop whatever needs to minced, diced, or chopped
  4. In separate bowl, whisk a the juice of one lime, a little olive oil, salt, pepper, sugar, and cayenne together.
  5. Once corn has cooled, add all ingredients BUT the dressing in a large bowl
  6. Add dressing and mix everything together
  7. Let it sit for a few hours before serving

IMG_2627I didn’t pickle the carrots as it states on the menu or add any black bean salad dressing (which kind of sounds pretty generic) and I’m hoping the lime dressing I added isn’t too overpowering, which is why I added some sugar to it.

I’ve yet to actually try it since it’s only 3:21 in the afternoon but it looks great and hoping like hell it’s as awesome as theirs. OK, I know it won’t be as awesome but if it’s even half as good as theirs, I’ll be stoked.

We’re not doing tacos because we’re not, I’m opting for quesadillas since Nolan has gymnastics and they’re really easy to eat in the car if when we’re running late.

I’ll add a verdict to this post tomorrow afternoon.

3 thoughts on “My attempt at bartaco’s black bean salad

Leave a Reply

